Pollyanna.netRegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
OT: New perspective...

Reply to topic    Pollyanna.net Forum Index » General View previous topic
View next topic
OT: New perspective...
4givingangel

Post OT: New perspective... Reply with quote
Hi, everyone. Things are going a little slower than I want as far as my book deal, but I am being as patient as I possibly can. It's hard considering my head is full of
ight ideas! Anyway, I was really depressed last night over the many unanswered questions I have about things that have happened to me, and I was about to go to sleep when my mother came in and asked me to play her a song (on my keyboard piano). Still feeling downhearted, I told her I didn't have anything prepared, even though I have been composing for about two years. She insisted that I play her something, and I did. She was like "whoa. Now who's song was THAT?" lol And I looked at her and said "It's mine. I wrote it." Her eyes bugged out and she said "Are you serious? YOU wrote that??" lol Her tone of voice turned serious and she told me that I really need to do something with my gift and get my foot in the right doors. She offered to support my efforts as soon as she is able to, and I was taken aback by her enthusiasm. I don't showcase my talent to a lot of people, so their shock also shocks me! lol It's still hard for me to accept such compliments because of the negative feedback I've gotten from other people, mainly my father. I know I am gifted, but sometimes people can say such mean things and totally ruin my confidence. I know the main problem is that he's bitter that he didn't make it far in the music industry, so I guess he doesn't believe I can either. Fortunately (sorry to say), I won't have to live under the same roof with him for much longer, so I'll be more free then. After that long talk with my mom, I decided that I'm going to keep going forth with my aspirations and not spend anymore time beating myself up over other people's negativi